Apprentice Of the Year Awards 2016

Matthew Yeo, Liam Eathorne, Rowan Bird, Transnet Sales Manager Kelly Anstis, Dom
Future Leaders Programme Graduate Steven Bellerby

Apprentice of the Year Awards and Excellence Foundation Launch

The finalists of the 2016 etco* Apprentice of the Year and Most Improved Apprentice Awards were front and centre during the etco* Awards evening at the Waipuna Hotel on Thursday 23 February 2017.

etco* National Apprenticeship Manager Murray Samson introduced the finalists who all received certificates, a cheque from etco* and vouchers from our generous sponsor TransNet.

Nominees for the Awards were as follows:

Apprentice of the Year 2016            Most Improved Apprentice 2016  
Rowan Bird      Jed Denton  
Liam Eathorne      Dominic Griffin  
Mitchel Jackson                Matthew Yeo  


Coupled with the prize-giving was the launch of the etco Excellence Foundation. Aimed at identifying and supporting the future leaders of New Zealand, the Foundation provides opportunities to individuals wishing to upskill. One of the first projects that the Excellence Foundation facilitated was the Future Leaders Programme that ran its first course in December 2016. Future Leaders graduate Steven Bellerby was a guest speaker during the evening's proceedings.

Taking out the Apprentice of the Year Award, and with it the John Fisher Memorial Trophy, was Christchurch based Liam Eathorne. The Most Improved Apprentice Award and ECANZ Cup went to Matthew Yeo from Invercargill.

Congratulations to all participants for your hard work and efforts during your apprenticeship which ultimately lead to be nominated for these awards.